Tuesday, July 19, 2011

2011 Energia Belfast 24-Hour

Race Director Ed Smith, Lord Mayor of Belfast Pat Convery, Dame
Mary Peters and Energia Chief Operating Officer Tom Gillen
This summer's Energia Belfast 24-Hour Race will carry Irish Championship status.
UltraRunning Ireland has conferred the title after the successful first running of the race in 2010. The event saw four athletes run beyond 100 miles and Fermanagh's Thomas Maguire winning with a distance of 127 miles.
The race will again be staged at the Mary Peters Tack on July 22 starting at 6.45pm.
Race Director Ed Smith says: "We are delighted to have secured the Irish Championships from UltraRunning Ireland and have an ambition to pitch for a European Championships in the future.
"It's the ultimate challenge of mind over matter to keep going round a track and right around the clock," he says. "The 17 who finished in 2010 - all going beyond 80 miles - put in a remarkable effort - and we are hoping to grow the event in 2011."
"To broaden the choice, I'll be introducing a 12 hour race to run concurrently, and also a 24-hour relay for teams of four which must include at least one woman," says Smith.
For further information contact: Ed Smith at 00447740818389 or ed_n_smith@hotmail.com.

No comments:

Post a Comment